Trending Now


Odisha Swimmers shines

Bhubaneswar: On the second and concluding day of Khelo India Junior Women’s Series held at AquaticCentre ,Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar women swimmers from Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha competed in 10 events. In 200 m. back stroke Akankshya Naik ( U-18) from Odisha bagged the first prize, in 200 m. Back stroke ( U-15) Ridhima Pallavi Tiwari from Jharkhand stood first and Arpita Seth from Odisha came Second, in 100 m. Breast stroke ( U-18) Mannata Mishra from Odisha bagged the first prize. Anchal Bag (U-15) from Odisha took the honours by bagging the first position in 100m Breaststroke .In 400 m freestyle ( U-18) Vadra Satpathy from Odisha was the winner. In 200m ( U-18) Butterfly event Divyanka Divyajyoti Pradhan (U-18) from Odisha left his competitors behind and bagged the first position . Arpita Samal(U-15) from Odisha bagged the first position in 200 Butterfly event. Anshika Aradhana Sahu from Odisha was the winner in 100m freestyle ( U-15).

Pradip Kumar Padhee , President of Odisha State Swimming Association presided over the closing ceremony. Surendra Nayak, Technical Head of the Swimming Association, Akshaya Pradhan , V.President of the Association Rabindra Rout , Lakshmichandra Mahakur Joint Secretary of Swimming Federation of India were present to give away the prizes. As per the policy of the Sports Authority Of India , cash awards shall be awarded to the participants with 1st to 5th position in each event.

Technical support was given by JSW , Odisha. This event was supported by the Department of Sports and Youth Services, Government of Odisha.

Share It

Comments are closed.