Trending Now

Mines of Tata Steel Bag 37 prizes in 41st Annual Mines Safety Week

Joda: Tata Steel has bagged 37 prizes at the 41st Annual Mines Safety Week celebration-2023 held under the aegis of Directorate General of Mines Safety (DGMS), Bhubaneswar region on Friday.

Joda East Iron Mine was declared as the winner in Overall Performance in A-1 category, while Katamati Iron Mine bagged 1st prize in A-2 category.

Besides, Tata Steel was adjudged as the winner in Stall Exhibit category.

Anshu Kumari of Joda East Iron Mine was declared winner in Best Poster category.

Earlier this month in a similar award giving ceremony at Tensa and South Kaliapani, Khondbond Iron and Manganese mine, Katamati Iron Mine, Ferro Alloys and Minerals Division (FAMD), and Neelachal Ispat Nigam Ltd (NINL), Sukinda Chromite mine had won several prizes in various categories.

The Mines Safety Week is observed every year in all the regions across the country to improve safe work practices in mines, significantly reduce accidents in mines and motive mine owners & employees for a zero-harm culture.

The function was inaugurated by Chief Guest Prabhat Kumar, Director General, DGMS, Dhanbad in the presence of SD Chiddarwar, Dy Director General of Mines Safety, Ranchi, Sauvick Mazumdar, Chief Operating Officer, Mines Division, JSW Steel Ltd, Krishnendu Mondal, Director Mines Safety, Bhubaneswar, Region 1, PR Thakur, Director Mines Safety, Bhubaneswar, Region 2 and other dignitaries from several mines.

Earlier in the day, the dignitaries inspected the stalls put up by various mining companies like Tata Steel, JSW, Jindal Steel & Power, Odisha Mining Corporation, Vedanta, and vendor partners in which best safety practices and safety equipments were displayed.

Cultural programmes presented by the dance troupes mesmerised the audience.

Among those present on the occasion were Rajesh Kumar, Chief, Joda East Iron Mine, Tata Steel; G V Satyanarayana, Chief, Khondbond Iron Mine , Tata Steel; Shirish Shekhar, Chief, Noamundi Iron Mine, Tata Steel; Rahul Kishore, Chief, Nilachal Ispat Nigam Limited; Directors and Deputy Directors of DGMS, safety board members, union representatives, General Managers, Agents & Managers, officers, workmen inspectors and workers of various mining companies.

Share It

Comments are closed.